down = up, less = more & death = life?

Interesting article about the whole “dying to self” idea… (Romans 12 is the closest thing to it that I can find)

It’s written in the context of marriage, but I’ve been wondering for a while if it’s something that (ideally) we should be doing in every area of life? And I’m not just talking the typical stuff like trying to help people out, being generous, sacrificing some of your time, etc… I’m talking about fully putting yourself below EVERYONE else around you, and seriously never making a decision that benefits yourself in anyway, but is done solely to lower yourself and to raise up others…

I was thinking about this idea this morning, and I was coming up with all sorts of reasons why this wouldn’t be good (if you gave away all your food to other people, you’d starve. If you gave all your money away, you’d be pretty screwed. If you always helped other people out at your job, then you’d never get any of your work done, and you’d get fired.)

…But, then i occurred to me that if everyone around you was doing this too, then even though none of us are looking out for ourselves, we’d all get by just fine because everyone else around you would be looking out for you! I know, it sort of sounds crazy, but that’s sort of why I think it might be so important… I mean, if you take the 2 options (look out for yourself, or look out for others) and extend them as far out as you can, which one will ultimately bring more peace/happiness/etc? Looking out for others… because if everyone’s looking out for only themselves, then people inevitably will start to encroach on each other’s turf and start to hurt each other because everyone’s only looking to save their own hide. But if you only look out for others, and everyone does it as well, that could actually make people’s lives better and make things lastingly peaceful…

Granted, this is all SUPER idealistic, and in all likelihood couldn’t ever happen, but I’m starting to think that this is how I want to try to live… since it’s at least headed in the right direction.

everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life. But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.” – Jesus (Matthew 19:29-30)

I feel like we’ve heard this a million times, but are we really doing this? I know that the majority of the time, I’m doing the furthest thing from this…

Leave a Reply

