Everything is Spiritual…

Everything is Spiritual…

I’m not sure if I’m using this term in the same way that Rob Bell used it recently, but I like the sound of it. And for me lately, I’ve taken it to mean that we can find traces of God everywhere.

And I don’t mean that just in the typical Creationist way that people might be accustomed to, ie. Creation’s beauty and complexity points to God, etc. I mean it more in the sense that God’s character, and the themes of the overall “Story we find ourselves in” (captivity, rescue, restoration, more-to-life-than-it-seems, etc.) can be found EVERYWHERE.

Case in point: I heard about this blog where a family living in NYC is sharing their journey to decrease their impact on the environment to Zero. So, they’re doing things like: no TV, little to no electricity usage, no cars, buying local food and supplies, etc. to name a few. Interesting idea, and very ambitious I must say.

But what struck me the most was not what they were doing, or even really why they’re doing it. It was their explanation of the process involved in one particular area: giving up buying and drinking coffee from you-know-who (green aprons ring a bell?). Check this out:

“It’s about a lifestyle redesign, giving up what I think I can’t, to see if something different, something better, emerges.”

That absolutely BLEW ME AWAY.

Now, I know nothing of the spiritual or religious background of this family, but what I do know is that they are trying to live out being “in the world, but not of it” better than anyone I know, Christ-follower or not.

The idea of sacrificing the things that we love in this life, in order to gain something infinitely better… “Dying to self” in the hopes that we will somehow gain a life that is more fulfilling than we could have ever imagined possible, not just for us, but for those around us as well…

If that’s not a trace of God in people’s lives who may not even know Him, then I don’t know what is…

And it didn’t hurt that they used the word “emerge” in there, either… 🙂

5 thoughts on “Everything is Spiritual…

  1. i was ok with this post until you said the word emerge. now i am convinced that you are a heretic.

    bout time you read the story we find ourselves in… good read, no?

  2. well… I would recommend a different read… when I read through this it reminded me of a book by Richard Rohr, entitled – Everything Belongs. I have been working myself through this book very slowly and it has truly challenged many of my pre-suppositions and helped me have new eyes as I view life, nature, circumstances, and Scripture. It is a wonderful book, none-the-less! For whatever it’s worth – great post.

Leave a Reply

