“Deep Church”

Interesting post here, about something people are calling “Deep Church” or “Deep Ecclesiology.”

It sounds like it’s the name for an effort to find, and focus on, the positive aspects of the Church through all of history (including recent history) rather than the (simpler) method of focusing on what we think has been wrong.

I’ll be the first to admit that I have focused on what’s wrong far too many times, so this is a breath of fresh air for me.  It’s much easier to see what’s going wrong than it is for us to overlook what’s wrong and see past it to what is right

But the big question then becomes: what does it actually LOOK LIKE for people to start living this “deep church”?  Seems like the answer to that is going to be something that’s up to all of us to create…  What will we do to make this a reality?  What will it take?

5 thoughts on ““Deep Church”

  1. Shirley-
    Sounds familiar, but it could just be because I’ve heard the term before and not of the book… Read it and let me know how it is 🙂 I’m going to add it to my Amazon wish list now…

    Jason-
    Thanks for creating the Deep Church site for me to be able to stop by it! 🙂 I’ll try and do my part… I’ll have to read a little bit more of your site so that I can get a better feel for what you guys are doing, and how I can specifically join it!

    Rob-
    You don’t have to keep it unlocked just for me… do whatever you wanna do 😉

  2. Hi Curtis, one of the ways we would love people to be involved in the Deep Church project is to have comments about how workable is this? What are people doing out there already and can they share experiences as well as experiment – there is not one thing that is deep church but a collective expression of God’s new from the past and God’s new in the present…

Leave a Reply

