The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name

ok, wow. THIS sounds really good…

<Spousal Comment> Becky, I just bought this for us to read to Silas, and it will be here on Monday… Thanks dad, for sharing your Amazon Prime!) </Spousal Comment>

Like the title of this post says, the book is called “The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name“. I found out about it here, and then read more about it here, and then promptly moved on to amazon to pick it up. I don’t typically (actually, never) impulse buy on the Internet (the grocery store is a COMPLETLY different story… is it a coincidence that they put the Ice Cream and the Beer in the same aisle @ Hannaford?)… but I HAD to get this.

I’ve been thinking lately, about what it will look like for me to share my faith in Jesus with my son, Silas, who’s now 2 years old. Granted, there probably isn’t too much I could say about it now that he would understand, but my struggles with it have actually stemmed not from his age, but from something else: my own views of the Bible, the Gospel, and Christianity in general have changed SO MUCH in the last few years, that I’m still wrestling with how to articulate everything even in my own head, let alone being able to figure out how to explain it to a little kid…

Coupled with this, is the fact that most Bible-based books for kids that I’ve seen are super-cheesy (at best), and/or theologically wrong (at worst)… We’ve got this little children’s Bible that someone gave us, and when it comes to Jesus’s death and resurrection, it tells it something like this (I’m paraphrasing):

Some people were angry with Jesus, so he went away for a little while, and everyone was sad. But then he came back, and everyone was happy!

In stark contrast to that… here’s what the author of this book, Sally Lloyd-Jones, has to say:

As a child, I thought the Bible was packed with rules you had to keep (or God wouldn’t love you) and heroes setting examples you had to follow (or God wouldn’t love you). I thought, in short, that the Bible was all about me and what I should (or shouldn’t) be doing. Until I read a Story.

It’s the Story running like a golden stream underneath all the other stories in the Bible: the story of how God loves his children and comes to rescue them. Suddenly, I realized the Bible wasn’t about me and what I should be doing at all. It was about God and what he had done. And it changed everything.

And here’s a reviewer’s quote, from the book’s site:

“Sally has captured the plot line of redemption in a children’s story Bible that sings the praise of Jesus and his saving grace on every page, in every story…

“This is heady theology, often missed in adult preaching and teaching, but fully realized in an age appropriate and attractive form that will delight children and often (at least for me) leave the grown up reader in tears…

“To discover The Jesus Storybook Bible is to have a unique resource for communicating the gospel to children in all it’s fullness. I hope that every family, and even people without young children, would get a copy of this book just to remind them of what the Real Story of the Bible is all about.” -K KELLER, REDEEMER, NYC

And one more quote from the site:

“I would urge not just families with young children to get this book, but every Christian—from pew warmers, to ministry leaders, seminarians and even theologians! Sally Lloyd-Jones has captured the heart of what it means to find Christ in all the scriptures, and has made clear even to little children that all God’s revelation has been about Jesus from the beginning—a truth not all that commonly recognized even among the very learned.”
DR TIM KELLER, REDEEMER PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH , NYC

Sounds like this book will be a good read, and not even just for my 2 year old son, but for my wife and I as well!

Once we start reading it, I’ll post some of my own thoughts on it…

4 thoughts on “The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name

  1. FYI, so far so good with the book.

    Granted, Silas is probably not QUITE ready for it (some of the words are a little over his head) but he seems like he likes it so far. He’s been requesting it at bedtime, over his usual favorite books with trucks, etc. So… that says something!

    The illustrations are GREAT, btw.

  2. Hey there, you’ve blogged about The Jesus Storybook Bible in the past and we want to give you the exciting opportunity to help us celebrate the release of the Deluxe Edition this October! All throughout September we’ll be sending updates about ways you can win copies of the Deluxe Edition (which features the entire Jesus Storybook Bible read by award-winning British actor, David Suchet) and free resources you can share with others! To register for these updates and exclusive information, visit http://fs18.formsite.com/zondervan/form475219780/ and sign up!
    Sincerely,
    Zonderkidz Marketing

Leave a Reply

