Why I didn’t go to church this morning…

It’s not a good sign when one of the biggest and most well known churches out there (Willow Creek) does a study and finds that as people grow spiritually and their lives become more and more centered on following Jesus, that they become increasingly dissatisfied with church… But, to give credit where credit is due, they’re being very honest by admitting that they may have gotten it all wrong, church-wise…

Click here to see the chart: Chart 5

On the one hand, it makes me feel better that finally someone will admit that this is going on, thus validating how I’ve felt for a few years now… but on the other hand, it doesn’t really help me at all. All it does is point out something I already knew, but don’t know how to fix yet…

I haven’t give up on THE Church… not even CLOSE. I’m just losing hope in the typical interpretation of what it means to BE the church, that’s all… And it sounds like even a place as big as Willow Creek is starting to feel the same.

Read more about the study here.

(HT: Monday Morning Insight)

2 thoughts on “Why I didn’t go to church this morning…

  1. Very, Very interesting. One might think that all of this was leading up to a large-scale revival. The things that are wrong or broken can only be fixed by God.

  2. Heather-

    “One might think that all of this was leading up to a large-scale revival.”

    I think so… or at least, I hope so. It’s probably not going to look like anything we’ve ever seen before though…

Leave a Reply

