love never fails

“A moment on the last night of the gathering will stay with me as an icon of what we were about. I was speaking with a rabbi with whom I had been in several sessions. A Muslim woman from our group came up with her husband and we began saying our goodbyes. The rabbi looked at the two Muslims and said, “I see the light of God in you. You are radiant with the image of God.” The Muslim woman said, “I feel I have a new brother in my family.” A small gesture, you might say, fragile as a snowflake, easily extinguished by the avalanche of weapons and tsunamis of propaganda that sow distrust rather than mutual regard and affection. But I couldn’t help but think of Paul’s pregnant phrase: love never fails.”

Dialogue at Davos (by Brian McLaren)

Leave a Reply

